The Mavericks return with first album in seven years

Grammy-winning group, The Mavericks, announce the release of In Time, their first album in seven years and their first for The Valory Music Co., slated for release on January 29th. The project will be released in conjunction with the band’s 20thanniversary of their first major label album release.

The Mavericks’ distinct sound, which has taken Country to places the genre has never been, is again evident throughout the new 14-track album, produced by lead singer Raul Malo and Niko Bolas (Neil Young, Warren Zevon).

With their new album, time melts once again and the band that defied definitions, blurred genres and made everybody feel good, is back. Whether it’s the Buck Owens-influenced “Dance In The Moonlight,” the panoramic Orbison-esque “Born To Be Blue,” the horn-punctuated retro noir “Back In Your Arms Again” or Tejano-esque “All Over Again,” The Mavericks have once again found the way to make genre-defying soul music.

For Malo, the lead singer with the rich supple voice that’s second to only Roy Orbison in its ability to convey lonesome, desire and vivre; drummer Paul Deakin and multi-instrumentalist Robert Reynolds; as well as longtime collaborator keyboardist Jerry Dale McFadden and seasoned guitarist Eddie Perez, life has become richer in terms of experience, playing acumen and a sense of their own musicality. It has also deepened the connection between them in a way that heightens the singular chemistry that made the award-winning band one of the most exciting live acts in any musical genre.

The band’s high-energy performance was most recently witnessed at the 2012 Americana Music Awards where they received a standing ovation after performing “Come Unto Me,” – a passion-fueled, seductive tune included on IN TIME.  The awards show was broadcast on a special Austin City Limits Presents: Americana Music Festival 2012. See the band’s performance here:

Track list:

  1. Back In Your Arms Again
  2. Lies
  3. Born To Be Blue
  4. Come Unto Me
  5. In Another’s Arms
  6. Fall Apart
  7. All Over Again
  8. Forgive Me
  9. Amsterdam Moon
  10. That’s Not My Name
  11. As Long As There’s Loving Tonight
  12. Call Me When You Get To Heaven
  13. Dance In The Moonlight
  14. Call Me When You Get To Heaven
  15. Ven Hacia Mi (Come Unto Me) Spanish version