Tag Archives: Joe Jack Talcum

Comfort & Joy Christmas Compilation to benefit homeless youth

for_the_kidsAnalog Ghost Recordings is proud to release Comfort & Joy, a special limited-edition Christmas Compliation album.  All proceeds from the album will go towards providing resources for homeless youth.  The album features a diverse line-up including legendary bassist Mike Watt, Joe Jack Talcum (Dead Milkmen), The Music Tapes, and Rob Crow (Pinback), performing holiday classics both old and new.


The album is available as a download, cassette tape, or a limited vinyl record.


Comfort & Joy can be purchased here: Analog Ghost Recordings



Track Listing for Comfort & Joy:

Side One:

1. Quasi – “Christmas on Credit”

2. Rob Crow (Pinback) - “Wasail Among Us”

3. Joe Jack Talcum (Dead Milkmen) - “Christmas Waltz”

4. Human Hearts (Franklin Bruno) – “June is as Cold as December”

5. David Ivar aka Black Yaya (Herman Dune) - “I Fought the Lord”

6. Golden Boots – “Mele Kalikimaka”

7. Wckr Spgt – “The Ballad of Snowy Brown”

8. Refrigerator – “Christmas in the Sun”


Side Two:

1. The Music Tapes – “Let it Snow”

2. Ida – “Heard it from Heaven Today”

3. Nima Kazerouni ft Maston – “Dear Santa, This World is Strange”

4. Wooden Wand – “Silver Bells”

5. Outravez (Monotonix) - “Banu Hoshech Legaresh” **** VINYL EXCLUSIVE

6. Jason Lytle (Grandaddy) – “Piano Fell Asleep In The Bushes”

7. Mike Watt - “The First Noel”

8. Terry Riley - “God Rest Ye”

Stinging Nettles: Fuzz-Folk


After the release of singer/ songwriter John Huebner’s solo EP, he began playing with a number of musicians in the steadily growing Lancaster music scene.  The plan was a simple one, to take some of his new songs, add a couple of new tunes he had started working on and as Huebner said, “play some shows and see how things went.”

Continue reading Stinging Nettles: Fuzz-Folk

Joe Jack Talcum : Live in the Studio

jj_talcum_liveinthestudio_sm.jpg“You can a sing along if you know the words,” Joe Jack Talcum reminds the crowd packed into a small studio in Lancaster, Pennsylvania on a cold, wintery, evening. Then he breaks into the Dead Milkmen classic, “In Praise of Sha Na Na.”  The aptly titled Live in the Studio is a stripped down affair with Talcum (guitarist/singer for the legendary punk band Dead Milkmen) on acoustic guitar and harmonica, backed by Hugh Hamilton on banjo and steel guitar, Marshall Fischer (Felix Lighter) on percussion, and the occasional sing-alongs and shouts from the small crowd.

Continue reading Joe Jack Talcum : Live in the Studio