Studio debut from Assembly of Dust on shelves in March

Assembly of Dust is set to release their debut studio album, Recollection, on Hybrid Recordings on March 6, 2007. 


In keeping with the title, this is an album that recalls a time in pop music when song craft reigned supreme and players valued taste as well as technique, thanks to co-songwriters Reid Genauer (lead vocals/guitar and top-shelf lyricist) and Nate Wilson (keyboards/backing vocals – think Garth Hudson and Bill Payne).  They’re joined by Adam Terrell (lead guitar/backing vocals), John Leccese (bass/backing vocals) and Andy Herrick (drums).  Although this band has musical depth, it’s the songwriting that truly shines – these are songs that resonate and stick with you, that go for the gut and succeed.


Exhibiting the chops and roots feel of classic Little Feat with a big nod to The Band’s Robbie Robertson and Levon Helm, Genauer and Wilson have a knack for a turning a phrase and putting together a series of chords that seem timeless and rare in this musical era.  Add the dexterity of Donald Fagen and Walter Becker with a nod to AOD’s current listening list (from My Morning Jacket to Gillian Welch to Paul Simon) and you’ve got a group that takes music very seriously. And it shows.


From the low-country shuffle of “Telling Sue” to the Neil Young-esque “40 Reasons,”  Recollection lives up to its name by referencing a time in popular music when music was musical, striving to recreate those rare moments in its history that are endearing, enduring and timeless. Look for tour dates in spring 2007.


Band info, tour dates and more are available at