Sonic Youth’s Hits Are For Squares

On June 10, 2008, Universal Special Markets and Starbucks Entertainment will co-release Sonic Youth’s Hits Are For Squares.  The limited-edition CD features Sonic Youth fans from music, film and literature selecting their favorite recordings from the band’s voluminous body of work that dates to 1981. It also includes a new, exclusive track from Sonic Youth, “Slow Revolution” recorded last year with longtime producer John Agnello. 

The album will be available exclusively at select Starbucks locations in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Seattle, Boston, Philadelphia and Washington, D.C. as well as online at


  1. “Bull in the Heather” selected by Catherine Keener
  2. “100%” selected by Mike D
  3. “Sugar Kane” selected by Beck
  4.  “Kool Thing” selected by Radiohead
  5. “Disappearer” selected by Portia De Rossi
  6. “Superstar” selected by Diablo Cody
  7. “Stones” selected by Allison Anders
  8. “Tuff Gnarl” selected by Dave Eggers and Mike Watt
  9. “Teenage Riot” selected by Eddie Vedder
  10. “Shadow of a Doubt” selected by Michelle Williams
  11. “Rain on Tin” selected by Flea
  12. “Tom Violence” selected by Gus Van Zant
  13. “Mary-Christ” selected by David Cross
  14. “World Looks Red” selected by Chloe Sevigny
  15. “Expressway to Yr Skull” selected by Flaming Lips
  16. “Slow Revolution” exclusive new Sonic Youth recording