Mott the Hoople to Reform for 40th Anniversary Reunion Shows

Mott the Hoople formed in 1969 when Ian Hunter joined Verden Allen, Dale Griffin, Overend Watts and Mick Ralphs and released their eponymous debut album that same year. Just two years later, after on-stage punches and insults were thrown, Mott the Hoople were ready to call it quits. Though David Bowie convinced the band to stay together, giving them the hit song “All the Young Dudes,” by 1974 the band had split apart, seemingly never to return. This fall, the original lineup of the band will reunite for a pair of shows at London’s HMV Apollo on October 2 and 3, commemorating their 40th anniversary. Tickets, priced between £36.00 and £42.50, go on sale January 22nd 2009 at <> .