Matthew Sweet, Susanna Hoffs go back Under the Covers

Power-pop sensation Matthew Sweet and Bangles vocalist Susanna Hoffs, otherwise known as “Sid & Susie,” will unveil their newest project July 21 on Shout! Factory, titled Under The Covers Vol. 2. This delightful collection features 16 of the duo’s favorite tunes from the 1970’s, and is the much anticipated follow up to the highly-praised 60’s compilation Under The Covers Vol. 1, released in 2006.

Produced and recorded by Sweet and Hoffs in Sweet’s Lolina Green Studios in Los Angeles, Sweet and Hoffs treat the songs with reverence, showing their appreciation for this captivating decade of music. Under The Covers Vol. 2 features the pair’s perfectly harmonized voices on favorites from the genres of power-pop, glam, classic rock and even prog-rock. The pair get a little help from Lindsey Buckingham on their cover of Fleetwood Mac’s “Second Hand News,” Dhani Harrison playd on George Harrison’s “Beware of Darkness,” and Steve Howe guests on their version of the Yes song “I’ve Seen All Good People: Your Move/All Good People.”

The tracks on Under The Covers Vol. 2 cover a diverse range of music, including huge hits such as Carly Simon’s “You’re So Vain,” Rod Stewart’s “Maggie May,” and Mott The Hoople’s “All The Young Dudes,” as well as lesser known cult favorites, including Big Star’s “Back Of A Car” and Todd Rundgren’s “Couldn’t I Just Tell You” (one of two Todd Rundgren songs included on the disc). Other treasured songs given the Sid & Susie treatment include John Lennon’s “Gimme Some Truth,” Derek & The Dominoes’ “Bell Bottom Blues,” The Grateful Dead’s “Sugar Magnolia,” The Raspberries “Go All The Way,” Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers’ “Here Comes My Girl,” Little Feat’s “Willin’,” Todd Rundgren’s “Hello It’s Me,” and Bread’s “Everything I Own.”

Matthew and Susanna have long performed at each other’s shows, and collaborated with comedian Mike Myers as members of Austin Powers’ on-screen band Ming Tea in Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery and Austin Powers in Goldmember before collaborating on Under The Covers Vol. 1.  Matthew and Susanna will have a number of tour dates to support the release in addition to separate shows by both Matthew Sweet and the Bangles.

Matthew Sweet released his 10th studio album, Sunshine Lies, on Shout! Factory in 2008. Produced by Sweet, the album featured Hoffs on the title track, and also featured Sweet’s longtime cohorts Richard Lloyd (Television), Ivan Julian (Richard Hell & the Voidoids), noted session player Greg Leisz and drummer Ric Menck (Velvet Crush). Born in Lincoln, Nebraska, Sweet was part of the developing music scene in Athens, Georgia in the 1980s and came to fame in 1991 with his hit “Girlfriend,” off his certified gold album of the same name. After releasing a number of other excellent solo albums, Sweet formed The Thorns with fellow singer-songwriters Shawn Mullins and Pete Droge, and they released one self-titled album to positive reviews. Sweet then returned to his solo efforts, releasing Living Things and Kimi Ga Suki.

One of the most successful female groups of all time, the Bangles, made up of Susanna Hoffs (vocals/guitar), Debbi Peterson (vocals/drums), Vicki Peterson (vocals/lead guitar), and Michael Steele (vocals/bass), first hit the radar as a fixture on the LA music scene in 1981 with their distinctive pop sound and gorgeous harmonies. The band’s sophomore album, the multi-platinum A Different Light, contained the hit singles “Manic Monday,” “Walk Like an Egyptian” and “Walking Down Your Street.” 1988’s Everything delivered the hits “In Your Room” and “Be With You,” and the international #1 single “Eternal Flame.” The band broke up in 1989 and each of the band members went on to participate in various other projects, which only contributed to their creative growth. In 2003 they reunited and released Doll Revolution. Shout! Factory released their first-ever live DVD, Return To Bangleonia, in 2007, which featured the original lineup performing their hits at The House of Blues in Los Angeles.

Under The Covers Vol. 2

Track Listing:

1.         Sugar Magnolia (The Grateful Dead)

2.         Go All The Way (The Raspberries)          

3.         Second Hand News (Fleetwood Mac)      

4.         Bell Bottom Blues (Derek & The Dominoes)

5.         All The Young Dudes (Mott The Hoople)

6.         You’re So Vain (Carly Simon)

7.         Here Comes My Girl (Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers)

8.         I’ve Seen All Good People: Your Move/All Good People (Yes)

9.         Hello It’s Me (Todd Rundgren)

10.        Willin’ (Little Feat)        

11.        Back Of A Car (Big Star)

12.        Couldn’t I Just Tell You (Todd Rundgren)

13.        Gimme Some Truth (John Lennon)

14.        Everything I Own (Bread)

15.       Maggie May (Rod Stewart)        

16.       Beware Of Darkness (George Harrison)