Joe Ely given 2007 AMA Lifetime Achievement Award

The Americana Music Association announced the recipient of the 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award for Performing during a magical night where industry members and fans of the genre gathered to listen to and celebrate the musical legacy of past honoree Levon Helm. 

The AMA brought the legendary Helm to town for the “Ramble at the Ryman” Wednesday night, July 18th, his first “Ramble” outside of the New York area.  Before he performed AMA Executive Director Jed Hilly took to the stage of the Ryman Auditorium to formally recognize Helm for his achievement in 2003 and announce this year’s 2007 recipient in the same category. 

“Four years ago Levon received the Americana Lifetime Achievement Award for Performing, but due to personal health reasons was unable to come to Nashville, said Hilly.  “How honored are we that the man many people call the godfather of the Americana Roots Music movement is honoring us with his performance here tonight.”   

Hilly then went on to announce that the 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award for Performing award is being given to Joe Ely.  “Ely’s live shows have become legendary, and throughout his genre -crossing career, he has performed with Bruce Springsteen, Los Super Seven, and James McMurtry, The Clash and more recent acoustic tours with Lyle Lovett, John Hiatt, and Guy Clark.”  Ely is also nominated for the Americana Music Association’s Artist of the Year.

The presentation will be made to Ely November 1st at the historic Ryman Auditorium during the 6th Annual Americana Music Association’s Honors and Awards Show as part of the AMA’s annual conference in Nashville, Tennessee.  In addition the association will present the Lifetime Achievement Awards for Songwriter, Instrumentalist, Producer/Engineer, Spirit of Americana Free Speech Award, The Presidents Award and the Jack Emerson Executive Award.   Recipients in these categories will be announced between now and October.   During the November Awards ceremony the association will reveal its member voted winners for works released during the 12 month eligibility period from June 1, 2006 through May 31, 2007.  Those nominees include: 


Album of the Year

·        Emotionalism -The Avett Brothers (Ramseur)

·        Modern Times – Bob Dylan (Columbia)

·        West – Lucinda Williams (Lost Highway)

·        Children Running Through – Patty Griffin (ATO)


Artist of the Year

·        Joe Ely

·        Lucinda Williams

·        Patty Griffin

·        Todd Snider



·        Buddy Miller

·        Gurf Morlix

·        Sam Bush

·        Will Kimbrough


New and Emerging Artist

·        Amy LaVere

·        The Avett Brothers

·        Sunny Sweeney

·        Uncle Earl


Song of the Year

·         "Hank Williams’ Ghost" by Darrell Scott; appears on Invisible Man (Full Light Records) Publishers: Chuck Wagon Gourmet Music, Famous Music Corp

·         "Sometimes It Takes Balls to be a Woman" by Elizabeth Cook and Melinda Schneider; appears on Balls (31 Tigers) Publishers:  Elizabeth Cook Music, Royal Notes Music, NewMel Music

·         "Are You Alright?"  by Lucinda Williams; appears on West written (Lost Highway) Publishers: Warner Tamerlane Publishing Corp., Lucy Jones Music

·         "Heavenly Day" by Patty Griffin; appears on Children Running Through (ATO) Publishers: ALMO Music Corp, One Big Love Music


Duo/Group of the Year

·        The Avett Brothers

·        The Duhks

·        The Hacienda Brothers

·        Old Crow Medicine Show

·        Son Volt