Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band: Unreleased & Remastered albums due

Did you know that the original intention was for there to be a Vol. 2 of JGAB music? It’s true: With Garcia’s blessing, Sandy Rothman assembled a second disc of 14 other tunes plucked from the group’s historic Broadway run at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre in October ’87 and subsequent shows at the Wiltern. Why it never came out is mysterious, but the great news is that now, with some additional recent tweaking by Sandy, comes Ragged But Right, a warm and wonderful companion disc that will slide comfortably in your CD rack next to Almost Acoustic.

Ragged But Right and the remastered Almost Acoustic are slated for release on  November 16 and are now available for pre-order here. 

Songs include: "Ragged But Right," "Short Life of Trouble," "I Ain’t Never," "Trouble in Mind," "Drifting With the Tide," "Rosa Lee McFall," "Two Soldiers," "If I Lose," "Bright Morning Star," "Goodnight Irene," "It’s A Long, Long Way to the Top of the World," "Drifting Too Far From the Shore," "Turtle Dove." The harmonies soar, the playing is impeccable-man, that was a good band!

Recorded live at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre, NYC, the Wiltern Theatre, Los Angeles, and the Warfield Theatre, San Francisco, in October and December, 1987.




1. Ragged But Right
2. Short Life of Trouble
3. I Ain’t Never
4. Trouble in Mind
5. Drifting With the Tide
6. Band introductions
7. Deep Elem Blues
8. Rosa Lee McFall
9. Two Soldiers
10. If I Lose
11. Bright Morning Star
12. Goodnight Irene

13. It’s a Long, Long Way to the Top of the World
14. Drifting Too Far From the Shore
15. Turtle Dove

See for a full descriptive write-up on the two discs.