Emmitt-Nershi Band : New Country Blues

emmitt_nershi_blues.jpgIt would be a challenge to take this blend of talent and come up with anything short of a fetching sound. And the boys don’t disappoint here. The recording values are high and the acoustic sound comes sparkling through as Drew Emmitt (Leftover Salmon) and Bill Nershi (String Cheese Incident) circle a red-hot team of pickers for a down-home romp that takes in Tyler Grant, Jason, Carter, Andy Thorn, Eric Thorin, Keith Moseley, Rob Ickes and Steven Sandifer.

New Country Blues is a pleasure from tip to tail, with highlights including the title track, “Wait Until Tomorrow,” the boot-scootin’ “I Come From the Country,” and Emmitt’s own “This is the Time.” If you like your roots sizzling, head to the back of the Emmitt-Nershi wagon and get a heapin’ helpin’ of what’s being served.

New Country Blues is out now on SCI Fidelity Records.