Darrell Scott readies ‘Long Ride Home’ for October release

Darrell Scott will release Long Ride Home on October 11, 2011.  Long Ride Home is Darrel’s seventh studio album and was self-produced with mixing and mastering by Ray Kennedy (Ray Davies, Steve Earle).  He will be self-releasing the album with marketing and distribution provided by Thirty Tigers/RED.

This new collection features Scott’s songwriting as a vehicle to revisit and pay tribute to the music of his youth.  Scott says he was “baptized into country music” throughout his youth, and many songs on the album are nearly as old as those memories of his youth, two from as far back as when he was 16 (co-writes with his father, Wayne Scott). Recorded in Scott’s sun-drenched living room over several days of an early spring, the project is an intimate homage to the music Darrell remembers. 

Scott centered the core band around Hargus “Pig” Robbins, his Band of Joy band mate Dennis Crouch and longtime friend Kenny Malone. Then friends Guy Clark, Wayne Scott, Rodney Crowell, Patty Griffin, Tim O’Brien, John Cowan, Lloyd Green, Charlie McCoy, Mickey Raphael, Marcus Hummon, Jonell Mosser and Kathy Chiavola all dropped by at some point to lend their talents.

Darrell Scott has, over the past decade-plus, assumed a rarified place in American music. His literary but accessible songwriting has been the foundation of his reputation. His singing is uncommonly strong and nuanced. And his chops on guitar and steel, practiced over a lifetime of blue-collar musicianship, have earned him elite sideman gigs like Robert Plant’s current Band of Joy. With three Grammy nominations and an Americana Music Award to his credit, Scott has more than proven his stature as one of the finest all-around musicians in the world.  Now on Long Ride Home, the country music that shaped his musical character and that has informed his prior work in ways explicit and subtle, finally blasts to the surface.
Track Listing:
1) It Must Be Sunday
2) Hopkinsville
3) Out In The Parking Lot
4) Someday
5) No Use Living For Today
6) You’re Everything I Wanted Love To Be
7) Dance In The Darkness
8) No Love In Arkansas (The Ring)
9) The Country Boy
10) Trying Not To Love You
11) Pay Lake
12) Candle For A Cowboy
13) Every Road Leads Back To You
14) Too Close To Comfort
15) You’ll Be With Me All The Way
16) Still Got A Ways To Go
Tour Dates:
10/5 & 6 – Nashville, TN Station Inn
10/13 – Berea, KY Phelps-Stokes Auditorium @ Berea College
11/5 – Kingston, MA South Shore Folk Music Club
11/11 – St. Louis, MO The Sheldon Concert Hall
1/13/12 – Duncan, OK Simmons Center Theatre