Bobby Bare Jr. Preps His Sixth for August Release

Bobby Bare Jr. will release A Storm- A Tree-My Mother’s Head on August 31, 2010.   It will be Bare’s sixth album and his first in nearly four years.

A Storm- A Tree-My Mother’s Head was co-produced by Bare and David Vandervelde (Jay Bennett). Tom Blankenship (bass), Carl Broemel (guitar, steel) and Patrick Hallahan (drums) from My Morning Jacket, Matt Rowland (keys), all lend their musicianship in addition to co-writes on the album. Bobby Bare Sr. also contributes two co-writes.

In addition to recording his new album, Bare also produced a tribute album in memory of one of his close friends and mentors. Twistable, Turnable Man: A Tribute to the Songs of Shel Silverstein is Bare’s largest musical project to date.  The project was released today and features some of Silverstein’s most famous tunes.

Since Bare’s last album, The Longest Meow, he had his second child, gotten divorced, lost his house in the divorce, almost lost his mom, almost lost his son, produced his largest musical project, got his house back, got a new girlfriend and now has a new baby on the way. All of these events have shaped his new album and he definitely has some new stories to tell.

Indie filmmakers are gearing up for a documentary that will follow Bare through the release of these albums. Director William Miller says, "this is an exciting time for Bobby and we can’t wait to get our cameras rolling and go along for the ride." Miller’s credits include the feature documentary Time Bomb and the upcoming dramatic feature film, Happy New Year (directed by K. Lorrel Manning and produced by Iain Smith), which Miller is editing and which features Bare’s song, “Sad Smile”. For the most current information on the film go to

Track Listing:
1. Your Goat is on Fire
2. Sad Smile
3. Don’t Go to Chattanooga
4. Swollen But Not the Same
5. One of Us Has Got to Go
6. Lost in a Puzzle
7. The Sky is the Ground
8. Rock and Roll Halloween
9. Jesus Sandals
10. Liz Taylor’s Lipstick Gun
11. A Storm- A Tree- My Mother’s Head
12. But I Do
13. But I Do (Walk off music)